Yalta Conference

Prime Minister Churchill, President Roosevelt, and Marshal Stalin met at Yalta in the Crimea. In discussions regarding the future of the United Nations, all parties agreed to an American plan concerning voting procedures in the Security Council, which had been expanded to five permanent members following the inclusion of France. Each of these permanent members was to hold a veto on decisions before the Security Council.  A report was issued after the conference