Arab States Declare War Against New State of Israel

Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, and Iraq invade the newly founded state, intent on its destruction.  Fighting continues into the first months of 1949, punctuated by two truces, the first lasting from June 11 to July 8, 1948, and the second from July 18 to October 15, 1948.